DAHS Book Award

One award of $2,500 will be given to the author of an outstanding non- fiction scholarly book on a Danish or Danish American topic. Beginning 2022-23 this will be awarded every other year. Books must be published between January 1st and December 31st within the last two years. They should be original works that significantly advance scholarship and thinking in the field either by opening up new lines of inquiry or by consolidating existing ones at a high level of accomplishment.

Publishers and journal editors are invited to nominate books, but individual authors should feel free either to submit copies of books directly or ask their publisher or editor to do so. The award recipient will be announced in mid-March 2023 and honored at the DAHS Conference being held at the Museum of Danish America in June 2023. Please direct any questions about the prize to Julie_allen@byu.edu , jmnielsen@abbnebraska.com, or lrasmussen@rasmussengroup.com.

Application Deadline: August 1st

Submission Deadline: September 1st

ELIGIBILITY: To be eligible, nominated books must have been published between January 1 and December 31 within the last two years. Republished and self-published volumes are not eligible.

APPLICATION: The application form (ONE nomination per form) containing the author’s name, e-mail address, title of the book, name of publisher, publication date, a name and e-mail address for the relevant contact person at the publisher must be submitted online through the form below by August 1st.

SUBMISSION: In order for a book to be considered by the three-member DAHS Book Award Committee, a copy of the book must be sent to each of the committee members (see mailing addresses on this page). Nominated books should be sent directly from the publishers/presses, authors, or agents to each committee member. If the list price of a book makes this a hardship, we ask the publisher for one hard copy (sent to the committee chair) and an electronic version of the book that can be distributed to committee members. Books must be postmarked by September 1st.

NOTIFICATION: Award decisions will be announced in mid-March 2023 and the author selected for the award will be honored at the DAHS conference at the Museum of Danish America in Elk Horn, Iowa in June 2023.

Book Prize Committee

Chair, Julie Allen

1774 Sage Hen Road

Orem, UT 84097

John Mark Nielsen

102 Courtvue Drive

Blair, NE 68008-1969

Nete Schmidt

2902 Post Road

Madison, WI 53713

Application Form

IMPORTANT: Each book must be submitted separately.

Do NOT combine multiple books on one form.

© 2021, Danish American Heritage Society